La Rosita people

Do you have any stories to share about the people who work at La Rosita? Eddie? Enrique? the waitresses? the cooks? Leave a comment…

8 Responses to “La Rosita people”

  1. Robert Says:

    I remember a waitress who was very nice and had a huge collection of pins. I think she wore them on a vest. I don’t know if she still works there, and I don’t remember her name.

  2. Frank da Cruz Says:

    When I came to this neighborhood in the 1960s, it was still part
    of New York City. I lived on 109th Street, where everybody was
    Dominican and Puerto Rican. On the corner of Broadway, where
    Chase Bank is now, was a “super-bodega”. Across Broadway a Cuban
    diner, Ideal (which later became fancy, with tablecloths and
    candles, and then shut down). On each of the four corners of
    110th Street and Broadway, one or more vegetable markets where you
    could buy recao, plátano, yuca, and every type of vivere.
    Amsterdam Avenue below 110th Street, aside from a few “antique”
    stores, was 100% Caribbean. This was a neighborhood of real
    people, gushing fire hydrants, children playing in street; of
    exhilerating music, enticing aromas; a neighborhood with its own
    frío-frío man. Fast-forward 40 years and, aside from a small
    bodega on 108th Street just off Broadway, La Rosita is the last
    vestige of those days, the last place to get a delicious
    home-cooked meal that doesn’t cost a fortune, the last place that
    feels like home and where everybody seems like family, and really,
    the last good reason to live around here.

    ¿Cuántas vidas se trastornarán todo por el bien de un solo
    arrendador avaricioso? A mi me parece que centenas de gente
    trabajan en La Rosita. Cada vez que me voy p’allá, veo cada vez
    más. Creo que La Rosita ha de estar uno de los mayores
    empleadores de hispanos en el área. Ay ¿qué van a hacer todos los
    empleados? Madres, padres, abuelas… que trabajan tan duro para
    mantener a sus familias… Adónde irán? Rite-Aid? Duane Reade?
    ¿Para hacer los $6.00 la hora, sin propinas, en un ambiente hostil?
    Y ¿qué hay de todos los dominicanos, puertoriqueños, y cubanos
    que, contra viento y marea — las rentas que se dispararse, la
    yupificación sin parar ni merced — que todavía ingeniárselos para
    vivir por aquí? La Rosita les ofrece un refugio, un amparo, un
    lugar familiar y cómodo para relajarse y sentirse como en casa.
    Uno lo ve especialmente por las mañanas. ¿Dónde más conseguir un
    desayuno dominicano? — huevos con mangú, salami, queso, cebollos
    y pimientos, pan, y café con leche. Ay ay ay, después de eso, no
    tienes que comer otra vez hasta la semana próxima!

    Adios La Rosita, y gracias.

  3. jenine Says:

    I’ve been eating at La Rosita since autumn 1995 when I lived on 116th between B’way and Riverside. I didn’t expect much when I first visited but my first cafe con leche sealed the deal- holy cow. I ate there every week, at least once weekly for years; during and after the big snowstorm in January 1996, La Rosita was one of the only restaurants open and my daily destination. Though I’ve sampled a few other dishes there, my steadfast favorite is black beans over yellow rice with two fried eggs over medium and fried maduros- with a cafe con leche or two, of course. I’ve also enjoyed their Cubano sandwich- unreal and so yummy. I fervently hope Eddie finds another space in the neighborhood!

  4. Tom Says:

    Way back in the early 1980s there was a gentleman who waited tables there; I never got his name but I saw him every time I came in. He always wore a tie, always with a Ronald Reagan button on it. More often than not, he would be smoking a cigarette as he brought the food to you, a good inch or two of ash dangling from the end and threatening to ruin your food. He may not be my favorite be he certainly was the most memorable person I encountered at La Rosita.

  5. Bill Compton Says:

    Hi Jim. Photos i received. Thanks

  6. GabGoachLeago Says:

    Excellent blog! Very interesting themes. I will regularly read it.

  7. Hwa home warranty coupon Says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.

    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

  8. brian Says:

    Thanks in support of sharing such a nice idea, piece
    of writing is nice, thats why i have read it fully

Leave a Reply

